Heartspeak: On Waiting & Patience Trees

I’ve decided that I’m an impatient person.

I’m always looking towards the next thing, the next dream; always a future something or other. If one is always looking into the future, then it stands to reason that a great deal of waiting is involved. Waiting for confirmation, for plans to be put in place, for the days to countdown until finally, finally, the big day has arrived.

curtain

When that day arrives, however, you happen to look back over that period of time you were waiting, and what do you see?

A lot of missed opportunities. A lot of time spent in needless and fruitless worrying. All those moments when you were too busy waiting and wondering to spend time with your family, and what is all the more saddening, to spend time with God.

Have you ever been in that place? Because that’s where I am right now. In the middle of waiting.

Somehow, in the past weeks and months of wondering about my future, I have lost some of my joy. I replaced it with waiting expectantly for what the future may hold, instead of taking joy and delight in the day God has given me to live today.

faithfulness

Great Is Thy Faithfulness has always been one of my favorite hymns, but looking back over the past little while, I haven’t been exactly trusting in the fact that our Father is faithful, even when we are not. He does care so much about us, and not just about the big things. He knows the number of hairs on our heads right down to the last freckle on a nose.

Patience is one of the fruits of the spirits, and in my opinion, it must take the longest time to grow. Perhaps it’s like a tree, taking years and years to reach it’s full height, growing just a little more every year. It weathers every kind of weather possible, and sure, a few limbs might break and it might bend a little, but it is steadfast. It relies on its Creator, trusting that He will provide the strength and the patience to go on.

I guess my Patience tree is still growing, right along with my faith as I walk with God through my life. I pray that I will be joyful and develop my patience as I wait, knowing that God answers prayer. I am so thankful that He is forever faithful and patient with me.

One thought on “Heartspeak: On Waiting & Patience Trees

  1. Thank you for sharing these thoughts, Scoot. I am so proud of the young woman you are and so thankful and blessed to be your Dad. I love you.

    Like

Leave me a comment! I love hearing from readers, and I will try to reply as soon as I can.

