Doctor Whoniverse: Who’s Your Favorite Doctor?

I started hearing about Doctor Who back in 2011, and I finally got so tired of hearing about it and seeing references to it that I settled down and found the first episode of the new series: Rose. It starred the wonderful Christopher Eccleston as the Ninth Doctor, and I’ve been hooked ever since. Since 2011, I’ve watched all of the episodes except for maybe a handful from the new Doctor Who series, and am now in the process of watching all the available serials from the original classic Who series.

In future posts, I will include a full serial/episode list from each Doctor’s era, so you can keep track of episodes you’ve seen and have yet to see. However, this post is about your favorite Doctor, or more simply, the Doctor you most prefer to watch. I love all the Doctors, except for McGann and Capaldi, and only because I haven’t had the pleasure to watch them yet. Each Doctor has certain qualities that I enjoy, but if I had to choose, it would be… without a doubt… the… *pause for effect*

tsd1 Third Doctor!

Yes, friends and fellow fans, the suave, sophisticated, cape-wearing, James-Bondesque, earth-bound Third Doctor is my favorite Doctor of them all. He was exiled to Earth by the Time Lords, where he lost all memory of the TARDIS’ dematerialisation codes and therefore, could not fly the TARDIS by himself.

sfs3

He helped out the “top-secret” organization of UNIT, and had several adventures involving Autons, Daleks, and even his two previous selves! A bit bitter at being exiled to Earth, he later came to enjoy his time there, returning again and again to his “home” even after his exile was lifted.

tota13-

He loved working with gadgets, and he was always tinkering with one thing or another. I have seen all of the serials from his era, 1970-1974, and some of my favorite serials come from his era. I recommend him to those wanting to start in Classic Who.

I’ve decided my next series of Doctor Who posts will be all about the Doctors, and I will post each Doctor (excluding the two I haven’t seen) in the order of my personal watching preference. I hope y’all will come along with me in this journey through all of time and space.

Have you seen any serials from the Third Doctor’s era? Do you like him, or do you avoid him at all costs? Tell me about it!

3 thoughts on “Doctor Whoniverse: Who’s Your Favorite Doctor?

  1. I love David Tennant and I picked him in your poll, but it was a hard decision between him and Christopher Eccleston, since he was my “first” doctor and the one I fell in love with the series with. It actually took me a long time to warm up to David when he took over. 🙂 Doctor Who and yarn, I love your blog! 😉

    Like

  2. Pingback: Doctor Whoniverse: Getting to Know…The Fourth Doctor | The Handmade Handmaiden

Leave me a comment! I love hearing from readers, and I will try to reply as soon as I can.

