All The Makings: Free Scarf Pattern!

As promised, here is my very first pattern that I have ever taken the time to write up for someone else to read. I apologize in advance if it is unclear, and please comment if you are unsure about a step in the process! In the next few posts of All The Makings, I will be doing a series on a Memory Match game that I created, with free patterns so that you can make your own game. Have fun making!

The Merry Angled Scarf

by Lauren L.

scarf1

I used a 6.5mm hook, and Lion Brand’s Nature’s Choice Organic Cotton yarn in Pistachio and Almond (I think), but you can use any yarn you like. It’s very easy to work up, and I like how the five stripes are wide enough for the scarf to be pretty but cozy.

Abbreviations: ch = chain, st(s) = stitch(es), sc = single crochet, sk = skip, ch-3 sp = chain-3 space

Ch a multiple of 3 sts. (I chained 99 or 102; I was really wanting to get the length of the scarf right, so all I know is that it is a multiple of 3!)

Row 1: sc in 2nd ch from hk, ch 3, sc in next ch, sk next ch, *sc in next ch, ch 3, sc in next ch, sk next ch; repeat from * across to end of row, turn.

Row 2: Ch 1, (sc, ch 3, sc,) in each ch-3 sp across to end of row, turn. (If you want your scarf to be striped, break off your color after every 2nd row. For example, break off your green yarn after Row 2, break off your cream yarn after Row 4, etc.)

Rows 3-4: Repeat Row 1 & 2 with second yarn color or main yarn color. Switch colors after end of Row 4 or continue on with desired yarn.

Rows 5-6: Repeat Row 1 & 2. Switch yarn if wanted.

Rows 7-8: Repeat Row 1 & 2. (Are you seeing a pattern here?)

Rows 9-10: Repeat Row 1 & 2. Fasten off yarn at the end of Row 10, or keep on going until you have reached the desired width of your scarf.

And that’s all, fellow crocheters! Simple, but lovely. Enjoy your new scarf!

scarf2

~I don’t mind if you use my patterns to sell items (just don’t sell the pattern itself), but I would appreciate it if you used your own pictures of what you’ve made on your website or listing. My pictures might not be very good, but they are mine! Copyright Lauren L. 2014~

One thought on “All The Makings: Free Scarf Pattern!

  1. Pingback: Monday Makings: Memory Match Pattern – Square Cards | The Handmade Handmaiden

Leave me a comment! I love hearing from readers, and I will try to reply as soon as I can.

