Heartspeak: Prone To Wander

Trains. Planes. Cars. Bicycles. Walking. All are forms of transportation. All get you from one place to another. In my life recently, however, I have decided to add a new form of transportation to my list.

The mind.

The mind is a wonderfully complex thing, and I thank God dearly for it. It gives me the ability to imagine things and to ponder deep thoughts. It also gives me the ability to make choices, and it is in that area that I mess up most often. And most often when it comes to things of God.

I still struggle with reading my Bible. I still struggle with praying “without ceasing.” I also struggle with making good choices, even though I know what I should and shouldn’t be doing. My mind tends to wander when I start to read my Bible, and again when I begin to pray. Too many things distract me, and I start to think about current struggles and little trials that I’m having, instead of focusing on the One who gives me the strength to face those trials and struggles.

Finally, I had had enough. My heart was heavy with unnecessary burdens, and my mind was distracting me with doubting thoughts and concerns for unimportant things. Something had been tugging at my heart for a while now, and that little something turned out to be a gentle reminder from the Lord.

fruits

I needed to be reminded of the fruits of the Spirit. A simple little thing that I learned when I was a little girl in Sunday School, but it is so much more applicable now that I’m an adult. A reminder for me to examine my heart (and my mind) for evidence of these fruits in my life. For when you are a child of the Living God, these things should be evidence of that fact: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.

When my thoughts start to wander away from the Lord when I am praying or reading my Bible, I glance up at the fruits of the Spirit stuck on my wall. They might be just plain index cards with washable marker-ed words, but when I look at them, my focus turns heavenward. I am reminded that only if I am reading His Word and praying to the One who created me, will I see evidence of these actions in my life.

My mind is prone to wander, but I pray now that it wanders to the heavenly Father, who is the only one able to quiet its wayward thoughts.

Leave me a comment! I love hearing from readers, and I will try to reply as soon as I can.

