Quote
1

Shadows of Memory

by Lauren Lasher

So many faces,
People and places.
They all run together
In a jumbled mess.

Living in shadows
Dwelling far below,
Their memories are kept
From light of day.

Occasionally they surface,
Sometimes without purpose.
The memories come alive
In closing my eyes.

For painfully poignant
From retrospect sent,
The faces of those
Who’ve been left behind.

Whispering soft goodbyes
Tears filling eyes
As the memories depart
Hidden away once more.

I’ve been doing a lot of remembering lately, and I wrote this poem a while back for just such an occasion. I’m sorry for such a short post, but I honestly can’t think of anything else to top off this poem! Suffice it to say, I’ve been pensive of late, and old memories are flooding my mind like ocean waves. Some are happy, some are sad; all are bittersweet.

Have you taken a trip down Memory Lane lately?

One thought on “Heartspeak: A Poem on Memories

Leave me a comment! I love hearing from readers, and I will try to reply as soon as I can.

