Weekly Gathering: 8 Free Tunisian Crochet Patterns!

While I was on vacation, I had the wonderful opportunity to go to the Michael’s craft store, which is definitely on my list of favorite stores! Since I am trying to bust my entire yarn stash before I allow myself to buy more yarn, I had to hold my breath when I walked down the yarn aisles. So many soft and colorful yarns were calling my name! When I got to the hooks and pattern books section, my eyes were drawn to the Tunisian (or Afghan stitch) hooks on display. I caved and bought the only size they had, a 6mm, because I have been wanting to try my hand at a little Tunisian crochet.

This week’s pattern roundup is in honor of my wanting to do some Tunisian crochet, so here are 8 free Tunisian crochet patterns; we can both learn along the way! (Here’s a really clear and easy to follow photo and video tutorial for Tunisian crochet basics from Moogly.) Happy makings, friends!

tunisian collection

1. Chickadee Cowl by Kirsten Kapur, at Ravelry: Available as a free Ravelry download, this cowl shows off your Tunisian crochet in style!

2. The Erin Top by Amy, at The Laughing Willow: I keep telling myself that I’m going to crochet something for me to wear, and this boat-neck top seems like just the thing!

3. Birchbark Slippers by Sue, at Mr. Micawber’s Recipe for Happiness: Soft and sturdy, these slippers are perfect for those cool mornings when your feet get a little chilly.

4. Tunisian Sampler Throw, at Lion Brand: With 9(!) different Tunisian stitches, this throw is great for showing off your hard-learned skills!

Image of Tunisian Throw

5. Monroe Scarf by Kim Guzman, at CrochetKim: A simple but stylish way to practice your Tunisian stitches.

CrochetKim Free Crochet Pattern | Monroe Scarf

6. Two-Color Tunisian Potholders by Brownie, at Brownie Doodles: Although this blog is in Polish, this lovely little pattern is in English, and I will be adding it to my ever-growing list of things to crochet!

7. Tunisian Treasure Shawl by Elisa Purnell, at Ravelry: Also a free Ravelry download, this shawl looks just perfect for an evening out, or just curling up after a long day.

8. Mini Hold-All Purse by Sarah, at Sarita Creative: Who says practical can’t be cute? Perfect for holding loose change and other odds and ends!

That about sums it for this week’s Weekly Gathering, friends. Have fun with learning this new method of crochet that looks like knitting, and I hope you’ve been inspired to do some crocheting this week!

Have you ever tried Tunisian crochet before? Did you have a good or a bad experience? Tell me more about it!

Leave me a comment! I love hearing from readers, and I will try to reply as soon as I can.

