All The Makings: Memory Match Game – Circle Card

Hello, and a good Monday morning to you all! I do hope that everyone is enjoying this pattern series; after today, only 2 more shapes left to make! My very last post in the series will be on how to make the white background card and how to attach your shapes to your cards. Let’s get on to the next pattern! πŸ™‚

Memory Match Game: Circle Card

By Lauren Lasher

circle

I used a purple worsted weight yarn, and a 4.25 or a 5mm hook.

[Note: I worked this circle shape in a spiral, as you can see if you look at the finished card. This means I didn’t join the rounds. I didn’t want a visible seam!]

I used a “magic circle” to start off my circle, which you can find dozens of tutorials for across the Web. As I always do whenever I need to learn a new crochet stitch or technique, I go to Moogly first! (Here’s her tutorial for the magic circle.)

– I started out with 3 sc stitches on the loop. I worked 2 sc in each of the 3 stitches. [6 sc]

– On the next go-round, I worked 2 sc in each of the 6 sc from the previous round. [12 sc]

– On this round, I did a pattern: 2 sc in next stitch, 1 sc in next stitch, 2 sc in next stitch, and so on. [18 sc]

That was about how big I wanted my circle, but you can make yours a little bigger or smaller, if you desire. That’s what I like about spiral rounds: you can choose!

– For the last round, I just worked a sc in each stitch until I got to the beginning of the round (you can tell by using a stitch marker). Work sl stitch into the next sc stitch. Finish off, weave in ends.

Make 2. My game consists of 12 cards, with 2 cards of each shape. You can make more if you like, but I think 12 cards is big enough for a fun memory match game. Happy makings!

Memory Match Game Pattern Series:

Memory Match Game: Square Card

Memory Match Game: Triangle Card

Memory Match Game: Diamond Card

Memory Match Game: Star Card & Heart Card

Memory Match Game: White Card

~I don’t mind if you use my patterns to sell items (just don’t sell the pattern itself), but I would appreciate it if you used your own pictures of what you’ve made on your website or listing. My pictures might not be very good, but they are mine! Copyright Lauren L. 2014~

I hope you enjoyed this week’s pattern! Have fun! πŸ™‚

Leave me a comment! I love hearing from readers, and I will try to reply as soon as I can.

