All The Makings: Memory Match Game – White Card

I can’t quite believe that this post will be the final post in my Memory Match Game series, friends! I have really enjoyed doing these posts for y’all, and it has given me more confidence in my pattern designing, so thank you for reading and hopefully I’ve inspired you to make your own Memory Match Game! On to the very last pattern. (Don’t forget to scroll down to the end of this post for the shape patterns to go on your cards!)

Memory Match Game: White Card

By Lauren Lasher

blankcard

I used a white worsted weight yarn for all 12 of the background cards, and a 5mm hook.

Ch 17.

Row 1: Work 1 hdc into the 3rd chain from hook, and in each chain across to end of row. Ch 2, turn.

Rows 2-10: Work 1 hdc into each stitch across to end of row. Ch 2, turn. Finish off, and weave in ends after Row 10 is completed.

There you have it! Really simple and works up quickly, thanks to the half-double crochet stitches. Just make 12!

Attaching Your Shapes To The Cards:

I have to be honest, it took me a long time to figure out how on earth I could attach my shapes to the cards without the colors showing on the back of the cards. It is supposed to be a little challenging for the little ones, after all! ๐Ÿ™‚ After much thought (and researching crochet forums!), I came up with a solution: Liquid Stitch.

Liquid Stitch Fabric Mender.

via Wal-Mart.com

All you have to do is spread the backs of your shapes with the Liquid Stitch, making sure to get all the corners covered, then press the shape firmly to the white card for at least 15 seconds with a lot of pressure. After I had attached all the shapes to their respective cards, I wanted to be extra sure that they would stay that way, so I laid all the drying cards on my dining room table and piled three books on top of each card!

After I let the cards dry for atย  least 24 hours, I unstacked the books, and took a look at my cards, hoping that the Liquid Stitch worked like it was supposed to. To my pleasant surprise, it did! All of the shapes were firmly attached to the cards, and they looked great, to boot! I was and still am so very pleased.

Finished Memory Match Game!

memorymatch1

Time to play!

memorymatch2

Enjoy, y’all! Happy makings! Get ready for next week’s All The Makings and Tunisian Crochet!

Memory Match Game Pattern Series:

Memory Match Game: Square Card

Memory Match Game: Triangle Card

Memory Match Game: Diamond Card

Memory Match Game: Star Card & Heart Card

Memory Match Game: Circle Card

2 thoughts on “All The Makings: Memory Match Game – White Card

Leave me a comment! I love hearing from readers, and I will try to reply as soon as I can.

