All The Makings: Alternating Projects

Hello, my friends all over the world! I hope that today has been a good day for you. Here in the States, it’s Labor Day, which means a lot of businesses are closed and the schools consider today a holiday. I’ve enjoyed not going to classes today, and just relaxing and working on the last little bit of homework for the week. [Note: My All The Makings posts are not limited to Mondays anymore! I can post about what I’m making whenever I want to now/when I have the most time. Carry on.]

I don’t know about your crochet or your crafting practices, but my crochet practice tends to take the form of starting a bunch of projects at the same time, then alternating them until they are finished. It’s probably not the best way to finish projects, but I enjoy rotating through a lot of different projects; variety being the spice of life and all that jazz.

Currently, I’m in the process of making a striped grey-on-grey scarf for my little sister…

grey scarf

A chunky blue scarf that I’m making up the pattern for as I go along…

blue scarf

A Tunisian dishcloth that is mostly finished except for a border and blocking…

tdishcloth

And a queen-size scrapghan of my own pattern creation, to top off the bunch! (Ha! The spell-checker wanted me to change “scrapghan” to “scrapheap”!)

scrapghan

Think I’m crazy? Join the club; I know I’m crazy! It is a lot of different projects, to be sure, but I love being able to pick and choose what I want to work on, depending on what kind of mood I’m in that day (or that hour). The first three projects are fairly close to being finished, which is nice since I’m beginning to start crocheting Christmas gifts. Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this little peek into my crochet practice of project rotation. Happy makings!

What is your crochet practice or method? Do you rotate current projects, finish them one at a time, or just pick them up after a long absence and go on a crochet frenzy? I would love to hear about it!

One thought on “All The Makings: Alternating Projects

  1. Pingback: Weekly Gathering: 10 Free Crochet Vest Patterns To Suit Your Style! | The Handmade Handmaiden

Leave me a comment! I love hearing from readers, and I will try to reply as soon as I can.

