Heartspeak: Thoughts of the Week

Four Little Letters That Changed My Perspective

If you’ve never heard of the MBTI Test, or the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator, I would highly recommend doing so, and as soon as possible. In a nutshell, you answer a series of questions about your personality and what you are more prone to do in certain situations, and then you are given your four-letter type. There are 16 types, and theoretically, everyone falls into one of those types. [I’ll post a few links at the end of this post to some of the better MBTI tests for you, if you’re interested in figuring out your own type.]

I know that the MBTI test is not 100% accurate, but it is accurate more often than not, as long as the questions are answered honestly and to the best of your ability. When I was 12, I remember taking a shortened version of the test, but all I can remember was that the first letter of my type was “I,” which means Introverted. It wasn’t until more recently that I became more interested in knowing my personality type, mainly because I wondered if there was anyone in the world who was somewhat like me.

Mind as Wide as the Sky

All my life, I’ve had an overactive imagination. Thoughts that just wouldn’t shut off, no matter how hard I would try to just stop thinking for even a moment of peace. No, I don’t hear voices in my head; I’m just constantly thinking. Even as I write this post, I’ve had literally dozens of thoughts completely unrelated to this post fly through my mind like a flash of lightning.

I’m quiet and reserved on the outside, but on the inside, I’m the funniest person in the room, making people smile and laugh. I just can’t seem to bring what I am on the inside to show on the outside, and that’s something I’ve always struggled with, even when I was a child. I can form the most eloquent thoughts and the wittiest comebacks in my mind, but when I open my mouth, the words come out all twisted, or they don’t come out at all.

One last thing, then I’ll get to the point of this post; I promise. I also have an uncanny knack of being able to just look at a person and figure out what it is that they’re feeling or whether they are being genuine or not, and I’m usually right, 9 times out of 10. I observe people without even realizing it, and I can pick up on their body language, the words they’re saying (or not saying), and other little cues of the like. It’s rather like being a Sherlock Holmes, or a Miss Marple, actually; always observing the little things and asking myself why things or people are the way they are.

I’ve taken the test several times to be sure, trying to be honest each time, and I keep getting the same result.

INFJ.

I for Introverted.

N for I(N)tuitive.

F for Feeling.

J for Judging.

And from the first description of the INFJ type, it felt like coming home. Finally, someone actually knew me! It was like reading a diary of my life, just written by another person. Creative, yes. Sensitive, check. Insightful and Perfectionistic, double check. Those four little letters suddenly meant a lot to me, giving me a new perspective on why I do the little things like I do. It has been so encouraging, and it has also made me think about how I can use the quirks and functions of my personality in my walk with the Lord.

Finally, I can see the benefit in thinking about my own unique personality that God has given me, and using the things I best function at for the glory of His kingdom. I don’t feel so “weird” anymore, or that no one understands me. Now, I can work towards using the best parts of my personality to serve the Lord in new and different ways, and who would have thought that all it would take were four little letters?

Take the MBTI Test:

16 Personalities site (also has really great descriptions for each type)

Similar Minds site (just put in your gender, then take the test!)

The test isn’t infallible, so keep that in mind when you’re taking it. Otherwise, have fun, and if you want, let me know what type you are! If you are a fellow INFJ like me, check out my INFJ-Outgoing Introvert board on Pinterest.

Have a lovely weekend – I’ll be writing. NaNoWriMo First-timer right here, and I’m itching to get started!

 

2 thoughts on “Four Little Letters That Changed My Perspective

Leave me a comment! I love hearing from readers, and I will try to reply as soon as I can.