Portobello Road: Anything & Everything

After A Long Hiatus…

The Handmade Handmaiden has returned! I’m sure that many of you have forgotten about me, and I would not be the least surprised. When I started this blog back in 2014, it was mainly because of my love for crochet. I enjoyed finding patterns to share with my fellow crafties, and it was one of the joys of my week to post here with my new findings.

Last November, I participated in NaNoWriMo, in which the goal is to write a 50,000 word (or more!) novel in just one month. I succeeded (loud whooping and hollering!), and sitting on my computer’s desktop is my second rough draft, which is in the process of slowly being edited. It was a challenge, but the story had been ruminating in my mind for some time, and NaNo gave me the perfect push to get it all out into a Word document.

My Book Cover!
The Wardens are erasing every memory of a church, driving the believers underground, leaving them without Bibles since the burning. It’s up to Lynn to code the Bible before it’s too late, or the Bible (and the churches) will be nothing more than a forgotten memory.

After that month of intensive writing, the last thing I wanted to do was write… anything. In December, my family and I moved to an old farmhouse in the country, where the birds sing in the trees, cows moo happily in the nearby fields, and Internet is a distant memory. Blogging for me right now is somewhat impractical since I can’t do it from home like I used to, but I am going to give it another try.

To tell the truth, I miss blogging. I love to write. I want to keep using this blog as a place to share what’s going on in my life and in my faith, and hopefully, I will still be able to post some cool crochet patterns. I have not been crocheting as frequently as I did last year; since I am going to college full-time, studying has often taken precedence.

Thank you for coming along on this journey with me, and I hope that I will see you again soon!

Sincerely,

The Handmade Handmaiden

 

2 thoughts on “After A Long Hiatus…

  1. I was actually wondering not too long ago why I hadn’t heard as much from your corner of the Internet (and whether you were going to do anything else on the Doctor Who section of your blog). Glad to hear your novel’s going so well; I’m in the same place on one of mine, so I know how grueling the process can be. Hope to read yours someday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jonathan! I currently have a Doctor Who post whirling about in my mind… it just has to be written down. Ah, the struggle of getting the words to sound right on paper (or whatever it is that a blog post is written on)! I hope that you will allow me to read your novel someday, too! Maybe we can swap manuscripts… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave me a comment! I love hearing from readers, and I will try to reply as soon as I can.